Mid summer update

So it’s been quite a while and I really hate saying that on a blog because it’s obvious when the last time I posted was…

Since my hospitalization, I have been trying to build back my strength and energy after three weeks fighting sevral strains of pneumonia, MRSA, and sepsis. Not only did I lose a lot of weight but I also lost muscle, so I was exceptionally weak.

I have also been battling some major stomach and a sinus disease, so it really hasn’t been a fun time, so to speak.

That’s one of the hardest parts about having CF, is the fact that it can affect so many different parts of your body, especially as you age. Decades of taking life-saving medications can cause problems that were never considered because there was very little chance of patients living into adulthood long enough to have these problems.

I did get to have a fun day visiting with my family when I attended a graduation party for my niece and my nephew. I also got to spend Easter and Mother’s Day with my family, where as in recent years I had not been able to do so.

MY sisters and I on Easter


I’m hoping to be able to do a few other things this summer and at least make a few more memories to hold onto. We all know what is likely around the corner for me so all I can do is stay positive and live in each moment. Because that is all we’re guaranteed is this very moment. Hope to be back soon. Have a great rest of your season!