Coping · Cystic Fibrosis · Distractions · Entertainment · exercise · Family · Food and Drink · Growing Up · Hospital · Inspiration · KIDS & CF Series · Lemons out of Lemonade · Lessons Learned · New Idea · support · Survival · TheraKitty

New Series: For Parents with Kids with Cystic Fibrosis

I frequent several online communities for people with Cystic Fibrosis and their caregivers, and I sometimes see the same questions asked by parents of young CF patients – how do I get my kid to eat? To comply with treatments? To feel “normal” when he/she’s the only “sick kid” in school?

I thought that I would harness my life experiences (I was a kid with CF once, too!), draw upon my natural propensity for creative solutions, and consult the “child within” who has helped me develop the perspective I’ve dubbed as seeing through “pink-colored glasses”.

xmas1972
Christmas 1972, one month after my 1st birthday, and days before I was diagnosed.

I plan to write a series of posts geared towards helping parents help their kids cope with living with CF.

Some ideas I’m working on…

  • Kids, food, and gaining weight
  • Complying with treatments and medications
  • Surviving a hospital stay
  • Dealing with the stigma of being “THE sick kid in school”
  • Managing everyday life with CF always hanging around
  • CF and Self-esteem

I hope to share some ideas that might make living with CF a little bit easier for both your child(ren) and your family. I am not a health professional in any way, and you should always consult you/your child’s doctor about making any changes to their current regimen, but I have 44 years of experience living with CF and hope that some of my experiences can help you, your child, and your family navigate the muddier waters outside the medical stuff.

Stay tuned!