Back at the Hospital…

I am on day six of yet another stay at “Club Med”.

“Club Med” is how many Cystic Fibrosis patients affectionaty refer to the hospital.

This is becoming a bad habit. I was just here in May for pneumonia infections and IV antibiotic treatment, as well as last December, and June, and 3 days later, back into the hospital for an intestinal blockage a week later…

You get the idea.

Like many of my hospital stays, the delicate balance of communication and practice never goes exactly right.

Nothing does in life, but when you’re dealing with things being inserted in your body, medications so toxic that they have to monitor your other organs, and feeling so sick that you can’t even move without coughing or hurling, it gets personal.

I could list all of the complications I’ve experienced since I was admitted on Monday, but I really don’t feel like reliving it and I don’t want to bore all of you who might’ve read this already on my Facebook.

So let me leave you with some medication-enhanced wisdom from someone who has spent a lot of time alone with her body that doesn’t work.

People keep asking “what can I do for you”,  “do you need anything, do you want anything”, and when it comes down to it, all I really need is love, support, encouragement, and prayer.

Some people might say that anyone of those words automatically includes the other three, but not everyone has the same face system as I do, and not everyone is great at being encouraging face-to-face. I love the internet because you can pour your heart out…

Or offer a quick, heartfelt message of love… 

So if you’re facing the dilemma of how to deal with a loved one who is sick or in the hospital or struggling with something else, ask them what they need, and listen.

Sometimes we just want to talk. Sometimes we just want to hear what you have to say about your life. Maybe we want to play a card game or, perhaps, Scrabble.

Maybe your loved one liked to do crosswords or sudoku, or they like balloons. You don’t have to spend a lot of money or even time to bring a smile to someone who’s hurting.

It’s really the simple things that make us happiest when were at our worst. Honestly, it’s not the things. It’s the people.

Does this not just scream “LOVE!!”?

 It could be a simple sentence on Facebook, a text message, a single phrase such as, “I care”. A joke. A funny video. A picture of your cat doing something cat-like.

That’s what I need. And I would guess that most other people who are facing struggles, hospital or not, would say something similar.

Have a great weekend!

What are your thoughts?

