TheraPink HQ

Ever since we moved into our home 8 years ago, we’ve always wanted to designate one of our spare rooms as “my room”. In our previous home, we had a furnished guest bedroom on the other side of the house that served well as a “sick room” when I was up all night coughing and didn’t want to keep my husband awake. However, the spare rooms in this house were too small for the Queen sized bed and furniture we already owned, so we thought we’d figure it out as time went on.

When we built this house, we designated each of the two spare bedrooms as “his” and “hers,” and chose blue and pink carpets, respectively. We call my room the “Pink Room” because of its pink carpet, and for the past seven years, I’ve made moderate use of it. During the time when I continued making beaded jewelry, it served as my design studio. For the several years I studied acting, I used the room as my rehearsal studio. More recently, it became “the room we put stuff in when company came over”. 

Necessity is the Mother of Invention…or Motivation

As I spent more time sick and needing to do more work to maintain my health, I so very much wanted to de-clutter and finally use the Pink Room for its intended purpose, but we had so far to go – it was full of stuff that I no longer needed, and was a daunting task, to say the least, and it seemed that either we never had the time, or I was in a health crisis.

However, once I decided I was going to finish this project – it took many hours, days, weeks….months(?) of intermittent spurts of work – we did it. Thanks to my hubby’s dichotomous mind of both engineer and artist, we found a place for everything and put everything in its place.

Finally, it was done. It’s not perfect, and you won’t see it on the pages of any magazine, but it’s comfortable, pretty to look at, and functional. It really is my little oasis, my therapy room. My TheraPINK room.

Here are a few pictures I took today.

The main seating area - the Purple couch.

The main seating area – the Purple couch.

It’s quite inviting! I found the Gingham curtains online and just paired them up with some heavy white cotton drapes I was already using. I think it adds some depth and texture.

Close view from my seating area.

Close view from my seating area.

This is the view from that couch.

You can see that I have an Exercise ball – great for getting the lungs moving!

To the right I have a cabinet that serves a dual purpose – my television and in the drawers, I keep some equipment.

This is also the area where I entertain the most guests – of the furry kind. Milo loves to lay on my vest tubing/my lap when it’s running, and Molly loves to lay on the back of the couch and look down at the birds in the tree below. Sometimes in the evening, if I am still here when Ken gets home from work, he’ll visit me in my Pink Room. It’s really neat to have my own place, to do “my thing,” or to take a nap, have some quiet time to write, or just shut the world out and watch documentaries on Netflix. You’d be amazed at how creative you get when stuck doing medications and therapies for hours at a time – you really learn to entertain yourself!

My closet.

My closet.

We’re trying to make better use of that closet, but right now it’s holding stuff that we either don’t want on display (our dust buster) or things that don’t have display homes, like photos.

That pink Lands End bag is the world’s most amazing tote bag. Spacious, with inside and outside pockets and a center zipper, it’s so versatile. And it’s too pretty to stuff into my closet.

My Vest.

My Vest.

This little cart has my Vest on it. I am looking for a way to add wheels or exchange it out for something small that has wheels, because although it has a nice home against this wall, I have to drag it across the carpet. Hubby has some ideas brewing!

My lung pillow is a joke, but I think it’s adorable. Sometimes when you’re sick, it your muscles hurt to cough. It helps to have something to hold up against your chest/abdomen as a “brace,” and this little guy serves its purpose well. Plus, he’s PINK!!!

My desk.

My desk

I put this desk together, can you tell? I think it was actually a child’s desk, based on the size, but I needed something simple.

You may also notice to the bottom left that I have an Olympic torch. Yep, I participated in the 2002 Winter Olympics Torch Relay!

Thank you! Come again!

I hope that you enjoyed your tour of TheraPink’s HQ. We have a special addition to the room that should arrive in the next few weeks, so stay tuned! As always, thanks for reading! I’d love to read about or see photos of where you do your medical therapies. Please share in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “TheraPink HQ

What are your thoughts?

