Quick Medical Update

Hello friends, I just wanted to give you a quick update on my current lung flareup and hospitalization.

I was discharged on Monday afternoon, with plans to continue my IV antibiotics at home. When the home health care nurse stopped by later in the day to set me up on Home IV medications, my PICC line (a type of IV) shut down. Long story short, I had my PICC line pulled, stopped IV antibiotics and began taking oral antibiotics.

Most CF doctors do not want patients to be IN the hospital, because of various risks including acquiring new infections. I only stay in the hospital when my relative health is not stable enough and I am too sick to take care of myself at home. I had enough improvement to be sent home and continue taking care of things myself. It’s a mixed blessing, because it is a lot of work, but it is such a relief to come home.

I will post a more detailed update when I get a chance. Thank you for visiting my blog! See you soon!

What are your thoughts?

